Amateur radio - what's this?

Already at the end of the 19th and beginning 20th century James Maxwell, Heinrich Hertz, Édouard Branly, Alexander Popow and Guglielmo Marconi established the basis of radio engineering [1]. Without this people we could not use today for exeample no radios or televisions or mobile phones. Beside the commercial users and the military also fast amateurs were interested in this area. In the decades following some countries promoted the development of the amateur radio, other one faced it distrustfully. But that changed meanwhile.
 
Amateur radio and radio amateurs
 
Today amateur radio is in nearly all countries of the world established and in accordance with [2] "a radio service, which radio amateurs practice among each other, for experimental and technical-scientifically studies, for one's own education, for understanding among nations and for supporting of relief actions in emergencies and catastrophes." A person, who practices this actions is named radio amateur. A radio amateur in accordance with [3] is the "owner of an amateur radio licence oder a harmonized amateur radio certificate ... who engaging oneself with radio service out of personal interest and without commercial-economical interest." Recapitulated amateur radio is consequently a technical hobby, whose fans (radio amateurs) devote oneself to wireless communication.
 
Spheres of action of amateur radio
 
Amateur radio is a various operating field. Many radio amateurs dedicate themselves to archive radio contacts, thus the talk with other radio amateurs world-wide. Other radio amateurs are committed to build themselve in part or their entire radio communication system. Some others understand amateur radio also as competition and participate in contests, radio direction findings and something like that. It shouldn't be forgotten that radio amateurs also concerned with the development of software. Usually there is however no radio amateur, who has only one motivation. Everyone is concerned from more than one reason with the amateur radio.
Even if the amateur radio is only one hobby, it already smoothed the way to a new job for many technically interested people. For a technical job or a practical training it can have an advantage, if one can refer to be radio amateur or be interested in it. As a countermove many companies and institutions to support the training of radio amateurs.
But amateur radio is not only the leisure activities of some people. Just in countries with large distances or only little developed infrastructure induce natural catastrophes again and again to the complete loss of normal communication. Internet or telephone/mobile communications networks are then no longer usable. Radio amateurs with their selfly-sufficient working radio stations represent then particularly often at the begin of the disaster the only chance of being able to set off emergency calls.
 
Amateur radio bands and amateur radio technique
 
Radio amateurs can use these days 24 frequency ranges between 135.7 kHz and 250 GHz. Thus offered the possibility of becoming active by the ranges of longwaves over the shortwaves until the far beyond ultra-short waves. So also today's time each interested one can still participate in the development of the radio engineering and the study of the propagation conditions.
Beside direct radio contacts radio amateurs built also relay radio stations and amateur radio satellite (OSCAR). But for the reaching of larger distances can be used also the moon (earth-moon-earth, EME), thunderstorm fronts (Rainscatter), the traces of meteorites (Meteorscatter) or polar lights (Aurora).
Telegraphy transceiver Sparrow for 30 m For the transmission of information go into action apart from traditional operation modes and modulations such as telegraphy (CW) and telephony (SSB) also procedures, those by the use of computing technology were highly simplified (e.g. radio teletype, RTTY) or became only possible (as Packet Radio, Pactor, APRS or PSK31). The latters are predominantly meant for text transmissions. Picture and video transmissions are however possible with operation modes such as FAX, SSTV (Slow Scan Television) and ATV (amateur TV, amateur television). But thereby the development is not yet terminated, how shows the amateur radio version of the digital shortwave broadcast Digital Radio Mondiale (DRM), the digital voice transmission (D-STAR) and software-defined radios (SDR).
Almost everything of the modern operation modes can be realized by the co-operation of a radio and suitable software. For that radios and computers/microcontrollers are interconnect by the soundcard and for control also by other interfaces. The used programs are developed thereby by radio amateurs for radio amateurs and are usable to a large extent free of charge.
 
QSL cards and amateur radio awards
 
QSL cards Each radio communication is confirmed by both interlocutors with the dispatching of special cards, the so called QSL cards. Thereby cards from amateur radio countries are desires, in which there are only few radio amateurs activ or which are difficult to reach. The latter can be the case for example if the goal finds on a small island in the middle of the ocean or in the Antarctic or at International Space Station ISS. The QSL cards are sent either over the own amateur radio federation to the amateur radio federations in the respective country or dispatched directly to the address of the interlocutor.
Received card serve apart from the written confirmation for a radio contact also as beautiful memory and for achievement of awards. These awards are mostly published by the amateur radio associations. The QSL cards serve as proof of authenticity that a certain number of radio contacts was reached, which are sufficient for this award.
 
The way to amateur radio
 
In Germany each one may receive transmissions of radio amateurs. The active participation as radio amateur, thus the use or the construction of a transmitter, is however bound to a permission. In order to acquire isuch a permission, an examination is to be taken during the national telecommunications administration. These are in Germany the Federal Network Agency for electricity, gas, telecommunications, post office and railways (BNetzA), in Austria the Federal Ministry for traffic, innovation and technology (bmvit) and in Switzerland the Federal Office for communication (BAKOM).
Licence Courses for preparation for the amateur radio examination offer different associations and organizations. Most courses are offered, organized or promoted by the amateur radio federations. These are in Germany the DARC e.V. (German Amateur Radio Club) and the VFDB e.V. (Federation of Radio Amateurs in Telecommunication and Post Office), in Austria the ÖVSV (Austrian Experiment Transmitter Federation) and in Switzerland the USKA (Union of Swiss Shortwave Amateurs). Usually each country has at least such a federation. Frequently the courses take place at schools, adult education center or at universities. However here in Germany the use of a training call sign already offers the possibility to comunicate wireless under supervision of a radio amateur. Thereby you can get to know about amateur radio before the amateur radio examination.
 
Code of conduct of radio amateurs
 
All radio amateurs have a common code of conduct/code of ethics, the so called Ham Spirit. Therefore radio amateurs shall be prove internationally world open, technology enthusiastically, tolerantly, humanly and helpfully. That underlines the purpose of the amateur radio to promote science/research, education and the understanding among nations and in addition to support authorities/institutions with the making of radio communications in disaster situations. Differences such as color of the skin, language, religion or political attitude of the interlocutor do not play a role. This indicates that the amateur radio pursues neither political or religious nor military or commercial purposes.
 

[1] Basics of of radio engineering
James Maxwell prophesied in 1864 the existence of radio waves.
Heinrich Hertz confirmed experimental on 11th November 1886 the existence of radio waves.
Édouard Branly developed in 1890 the first coherer, a sensitive tracer for electromagnetically waves.
Alexander Popow published on 7th May 1895 the first receiver.
Guglielmo Marconi succeeded on 12th December 1901 the first transatlantic radio communication.
[2] (German) Act of amateur radio (Amateur radio act, AFuG 1997), §2, par. 2
[3] dito, §2, par. 1

Imprint

Amateurfunk - was ist das?

Schon Ende des 19. und Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts schufen Leute wie James Max­well, Hein­rich Hertz, Édou­ard Bran­ly, Alex­ander Po­pow und Gugliel­mo Mar­coni die Grund­la­gen der Funk­tech­nik [1]. Ohne sie gä­be es heu­te zum Bei­spiel kei­ne Ra­dio- und Fern­seh­über­tra­gun­gen oder gar Mo­bil­te­le­fo­nie. Ne­ben den kom­mer­ziel­len Nut­zern und dem Mi­li­tär interes­sier­ten sich auch schnell Ama­teu­re für die­ses Ge­biet. Ei­ni­ge Staa­ten för­der­ten in den da­rauf fol­gen­den Jahr­zehn­ten die Ent­wick­lung des Ama­teur­funks, an­de­re stan­den ihm miss­trau­isch ge­gen­über. Doch das hat sich mitt­ler­wei­le ge­än­dert.
 
Amateurfunk und Funkamateure
 
Der Amateurfunk ist heute in fast allen Ländern der Welt eta­bliert und nach [2] "ein Funk­dienst, der von Funk­ama­teu­ren un­ter­ein­an­der, zu ex­pe­ri­men­tel­len und tech­nisch-wis­sen­schaft­li­chen Stu­dien, zur ei­ge­nen Wei­ter­bil­dung, zur Völ­ker­ver­stän­di­gung und zur Un­ter­stüt­zung von Hilfs­ak­tio­nen in Not- und Ka­ta­stro­phen­fäl­len wahr­ge­nom­men wird." Ei­ne Per­son, die die­se Tä­tig­keit aus­übt, wird als Funk­ama­teur be­zeich­net. Ein Funk­ama­teur ist ge­mäß [3] der "In­ha­ber ei­nes Ama­teur­funk­zeug­nis­ses oder ei­ner har­mo­ni­sier­ten Ama­teur­funk-Prü­fungs­be­schei­ni­gung ... der sich mit dem Ama­teur­funk­dienst aus per­sön­li­cher Nei­gung und nicht aus ge­werb­lich-wirt­schaft­li­chem In­teres­se be­fasst." Kurz zu­sam­men­ge­fasst ist der Ama­teur­funk so­mit ein tech­ni­sches Hob­by, de­ren An­hän­ger (Funk­ama­teu­re) sich der draht­lo­sen Kom­mu­ni­ka­tion ver­schrie­ben ha­ben.
 
Wirkungsgebiete des Amateurfunks
 
Der Amateurfunk ist ein vielfältiges Betätigungsfeld. Vie­le Funk­ama­teu­re wid­men sich der Her­stel­lung von Funk­ver­bin­dun­gen, also den Ge­sprä­chen mit an­de­ren Funk­ama­teu­ren welt­weit. Wie­der an­de­re ha­ben sich dem Bau ein­zel­ner Tei­le oder ih­rer ge­sam­ten Funk­an­la­ge ver­schrie­ben. Ei­ni­ge fas­sen den Ama­teur­funk auch als Wett­be­werb auf und neh­men an so­ge­nann­ten Con­te­sten, Peil­wett­be­wer­ben und Ähn­li­chem teil. Nicht zu ver­ges­sen sind die Funk­ama­teu­re, die sich mit der Ent­wick­lung von Soft­ware be­fas­sen. In der Re­gel gibt es aber kei­nen Funk­ama­teur, der nur eine Mo­ti­va­tion hat. Je­der be­fasst sich aus mehr als ei­nem Grund mit dem Ama­teur­funk.
Auch wenn der Ama­teur­funk nur ein Hob­by ist, hat er schon vie­len tech­nisch in­teressier­ten Men­schen den Weg zu ei­nem neu­en Be­ruf ge­eb­net. Es kann von Vor­teil sein, wenn man für ei­nen tech­ni­schen Be­ruf oder eine Aus­bil­dung da­rauf ver­wei­sen kann, Funk­ama­teur zu sein oder sich da­für zu in­teressie­ren. Im Ge­gen­zug för­dern vie­le Fir­men und In­sti­tu­tio­nen die Aus­bil­dung der Funk­ama­teu­re.
Doch der Ama­teur­funk ist nicht nur die Frei­zeit­be­schäf­ti­gung ei­ni­ger Men­schen. Ge­ra­de in Län­dern mit gro­ßen Ent­fer­nun­gen oder nur wenig aus­ge­bau­ter In­fra­struk­tur füh­ren Na­tur­ka­ta­stro­phen im­mer wie­der zum voll­stän­di­gen Aus­fall der nor­ma­len Kom­mu­ni­ka­tion. In­ter­net oder Te­le­fon-/Mo­bil­funk­net­ze sind dann nicht mehr nutz­bar. Funk­ama­teu­re mit ihren au­tark ar­bei­ten­den Funk­sta­tio­nen stel­len dann be­son­ders zu Be­ginn der Ka­ta­stro­phe oft die ein­zi­ge Mög­lich­keit dar, Not­ru­fe ab­set­zen zu kön­nen.
 
Amateurbänder und Amateurfunktechnik
 
Die Funk­ama­teu­re kön­nen heut­zu­ta­ge 24 Fre­quenz­be­rei­che zwi­schen 135,7 kHz und 250 GHz nut­zen. Es bie­tet sich so­mit für je­den In­teressier­ten ei­ne Mög­lich­keit, von der Lang­wel­le über die Kurz­wel­le bis weit über den Ul­tra­kurz­wel­len­be­reich hin­aus ak­tiv zu wer­den und auch in heu­ti­ger Zeit noch an der Ent­wick­lung der Funk­tech­nik und der Er­for­schung der Aus­brei­tungs­be­din­gun­gen teil­zu­neh­men.
Ne­ben den di­rek­ten Funk­ver­bin­dun­gen ha­ben Funk­ama­teu­re auch Re­lais­funk­stel­len und Ama­teur­funk­sa­tel­li­ten (OSCAR) selbst­ge­baut. Doch auch der Mond (Erde-Mond-Erde, EME), Ge­wit­ter­fron­ten (Rain­scat­ter), die Spu­ren von Me­teo­ri­ten (Me­teor­scat­ter) oder Po­lar­lich­ter (Au­ro­ra) las­sen sich zur Er­rei­chung grö­ße­rer Ent­fer­nun­gen nut­zen.
Telegrafie-Transceiver Spatz für 30 m Für die Über­tra­gung von In­for­ma­tio­nen kom­men ne­ben den tra­di­tio­nel­le Mo­du­la­tions- und Sen­de­ar­ten wie Te­le­gra­fie (CW) und Te­le­fo­nie (SSB) auch Ver­fah­ren zum Ein­satz, die durch die Nut­zung von Re­chen­tech­nik stark ver­ein­facht wur­den (z.B. Funk­fern­schrei­ben, RTTY) oder gar erst mög­lich ge­wor­den sind (wie Packet Radio, Pac­tor, APRS oder PSK31). Letz­te­re sind vor­wie­gend für die Text­über­tra­gung ge­dacht. Bild- und Vi­deo­über­tra­gun­gen sind je­doch mit Sen­de­ar­ten wie Fax, SSTV (Slow Scan Te­le­vi­sion) und ATV (Ama­teur-TV, Ama­teur­fern­se­hen) eben­falls mög­lich. Doch die Ent­wick­lung ist da­mit noch nicht be­en­det, wie die Ama­teur­funk­ver­sion des di­gi­ta­len Kurz­wel­len­rund­funks Di­gi­tal Ra­dio Mon­dia­le (DRM), der di­gi­ta­le Sprech­funk (D-STAR) und soft­ware-de­fi­nier­te Ra­dios (SDR) zei­gen.
Na­he­zu al­le der mo­der­nen Sen­de­ar­ten las­sen sich durch die Zu­sam­men­ar­beit von Funk­ge­rät und pas­sen­der Soft­ware rea­li­sie­ren. Da­für sind Funk­ge­rät und Rech­ner mei­stens über die Sound­kar­te, zur Steue­rung auch über an­de­re Schnitt­stel­len, mit­ein­an­der zu ver­bin­den. Die ge­nutz­ten Pro­gram­me wer­den da­bei von Funk­ama­teu­ren für Funk­ama­teu­re ent­wi­ckelt und sind zum gro­ßen Teil ko­sten­los nutz­bar.
 
QSL-Karten und Amateurfunkdiplome
 
QSL-Karten Jede Funkverbindung wird von beiden Gesprächspartnern mit dem Ver­sen­den ei­ner spe­ziel­len Kar­te, ei­ner so­ge­nann­ten QSL-Karte, be­stä­tigt. Be­gehrt sind da­bei Exem­pla­re aus Ama­teur­funk­län­dern, in de­nen es nur we­ni­ge Funk­ama­teu­re gibt oder die sich schwer er­rei­chen las­sen. Das Letz­te kann zum Bei­spiel dann der Fall sein, wenn sich das Ziel auf einer klei­nen In­sel mit­ten im Ozean, der Ant­ark­tis oder gar der In­ter­na­tio­na­len Raum­sta­tion ISS be­fin­det. Die QSL-Kar­ten wer­den ent­we­der über den ei­ge­nen Ama­teur­funk­ver­band an die Ama­teur­funk­ver­bän­de im je­wei­li­gen Land ge­schickt oder di­rekt an die Adres­se des Ge­sprächs­part­ners ver­sandt.
Empfan­ge­ne Kar­ten die­nen ne­ben der schrift­li­chen Be­stä­ti­gung der Funk­ver­bin­dung auch als schö­ne Erin­ne­rung und für Lei­stungs­di­plo­me. Die­se wer­den mei­stens von den Ama­teur­funk­ver­ei­nen heraus­ge­ge­ben. Die QSL-Karten die­nen da­bei als Be­weis, dass eine be­stimm­te An­zahl von Funk­ver­bin­dun­gen er­reicht wur­de, die die­sem Di­plom ge­nü­gen.
 
Wege zum Amateurfunk
 
In Deutschland kann jedermann Aussendungen von Funkamateuren empfangen. Die ak­ti­ve Teil­nah­me am Ama­teur­funk, al­so der Be­trieb ei­nes Sen­ders, ist je­doch an ei­ne Zu­las­sung ge­bun­den. Um sie zu er­wer­ben, ist ei­ne Prü­fung bei der na­tio­na­len Fern­mel­de­ver­wal­tung ab­zu­le­gen. Dies sind in Deutsch­land die Bun­des­netz­agen­tur für Elek­tri­zi­tät, Gas, Te­le­kom­mu­ni­ka­tion, Post und Ei­sen­bah­nen (BNetzA), in Öster­reich das Bun­des­mi­ni­ste­rium für Ver­kehr, In­no­va­tion und Tech­no­lo­gie (bmvit) und in der Schweiz das Bun­de­samt für Kom­mu­ni­ka­tion (BAKOM).
Lizenz Kurse zur Vorbereitung auf die Amateurfunkprüfung bie­ten ver­schie­de­ne Ver­ei­ne und Or­ga­ni­sa­tio­nen an. Die mei­sten Kur­se wer­den von den Ama­teur­funk­ver­bän­den an­ge­bo­ten, or­ga­ni­siert oder ge­för­dert. Dies sind in Deutsch­land der DARC e.V. (Deut­scher Ama­teur-Ra­dio-Club e.V.) und der VFDB e.V. (Ver­band der Funk­ama­teu­re in Te­le­kom­mu­ni­ka­tion und Post e.V.), in Öster­reich der ÖVSV (Öster­rei­chi­scher Ver­suchs­sen­der­ver­band) und in der Schweiz die USKA (Union Schwei­ze­ri­scher Kurz­wel­len-Ama­teu­re). In der Re­gel hat je­des Land min­de­stens ei­nen sol­chen Ver­band. Häu­fig fin­den die Kur­se an Schu­len, Volks­hoch­schu­len oder an Uni­ver­si­tä­ten statt. Je­doch bie­tet die Nut­zung ei­nes Aus­bil­dungs­ruf­zei­chens schon vor der Ama­teur­funk­prü­fung die Mög­lich­keit, un­ter Auf­sicht ei­nes Funk­ama­teurs Funk­be­trieb zu ma­chen und so in den Ama­teur­funk "hin­ein­zu­schnup­pern".
 
Verhaltenskodex der Funkamateure
 
Alle Funkamateure haben einen gemeinsamen Verhaltenskodex/Ehrenkodex, den so­ge­nann­ten Ham Spi­rit. Dem­nach sol­len sich Funk­ama­teu­re auch in­ter­na­tio­nal welt­of­fen, tech­nik­be­gei­stert, to­le­rant, mensch­lich und hilfs­be­reit zei­gen. Das un­ter­streicht den Zweck des Ama­teur­funks, Wis­sen­schaft/For­schung, Bil­dung/Er­zie­hung und die Völ­ker­ver­stän­di­gung zu för­dern, aber auch Be­hör­den/In­sti­tu­tio­nen bei der Her­stel­lung von Funk­ver­bin­dun­gen in Ka­ta­stro­phen­fäl­len zu un­ter­stüt­zen. Da­bei spie­len Un­ter­schie­de wie Haut­far­be, Spra­che, Re­li­gion oder po­li­ti­sche Ge­sin­nung des Ge­sprächs­part­ners kei­ne Rol­le. Da­raus ist er­sicht­lich, dass der Ama­teur­funk we­der po­li­ti­sche oder re­li­giö­se noch mi­li­tä­ri­sche oder kom­mer­ziel­le Zwe­cke ver­folgt.
 

[1] Grundlagen der Funktechnik
James Maxwell sagte 1864 die Existenz von Radiowellen voraus.
Heinrich Hertz bestätigte am 11. November 1886 experimentell die Existenz von Ra­dio­wel­len.
Édouard Branly entwickelte 1890 den ersten Kohärer/Fritter, einen emp­find­li­chen In­di­ka­tor für elek­tro­mag­ne­ti­sche Wel­len.
Alexander Popow veröffentlichte am 7. Mai 1895 den ersten Radioempfänger.
Guglielmo Marconi gelang am 12. Dezember 1901 die erste transatlantische Funk­über­tra­gung.
[2] Gesetz über den Amateurfunk (Amateurfunkgesetz, AFuG 1997), §2, Abs. 2
[3] dito, §2, Abs. 1

Impressum