Between the years in Liechtenstein

December 21, 2014 - January 3, 2015
 
Flag of Liechtenstein Admittedly, I like not particularly all the hype about Christmas and Yule. And I'm not an avid New Year's Eve partygoers. Therefore, I "buzzed off" for the holidays at the end of the year and the time between the years in an area, where you can sometimes be alone and undisturbed move/stop without being equal too far away from civilization: in the mountains of the Principality of Liechtenstein.
 
Location of Liechtenstein As a base camp and location for the radio station I used again the mountain guest-house Sücka (in German: Berggasthaus Sücka). It belongs to the municipality of Triesenberg and is located at 1402 m and above the urban district Steg near the ski resort of Malbun. The exact position (47°6′58,6″N, 9°33′54″O, Locator JN47SC) you'll find, among other things here.
 
How to easily get into the Principality of Liechtenstein and what you can experience far from the radio station also in the winter there, I already told in the reports on my second and third trip there. This time, the report contains more over the radio activity itself.
Go to "chill out" and relaxing for me goes besides plenty of rest and good food and the homebrew and last but not least to transmit via radio. And the latter, I indulged once again extensively, although walking also not neglected.
 
Assembly and disassembly of the antenna
 
Screenshot by findlotsize.com with antenna und bracing First I went to the construction the antenna. Since I knew the vicinity of the guest-house already from previous years there, I intended this time to build a larger antenna. Previously I had used for bracing the antenna always points relatively close to the house. This time 2 large trees were my goals, which are 100 m and 65 m away. These distances I already determined in the outset on www.findlotsize.com. Since the distances are large, I had as a precaution 2 100 meter rolls with 2 mm thick, braided lines (polypropylene), 50 m mason's lacing cord (1 mm thick) and a golf ball with hole as a fling-weight in the luggage.
 
After a few tries I was able to throw the mason's lacing cord with the attached golf ball through the top of the tree and over a branch, that was about 25 m above the ground. Then I knotted the mason's lacing cord with the thicker string, pulled the first arm of the prepared wire antenna slightly up and undid the mason's lacing cord again, when I held the thick cord in my hands. The remaining thick string I wrapped first temporarily down around the tree. At the second tree I repeated this procedure and finally pulled both antenna arms punitive upwards. The construction took about one hour, because I had to deal with the hand rather steep (about 30°) between the 2 trees several times. Fortunately at this time was only relatively little snow, about 10 cm.
 
In the end the antenna, made from twice 20 m wire and 8-m lead, was in a height of about 10 to 12 m tilted on the slope. The design I would describe as an angled Dipole or bent Doublet. The feed line I moved horizontally towards the window and clamped it there in the window frame and led it into the room. The station stood on a small table by the window. Although the 2 -wire line well wedged in the window frame, I combined them with a short line at the window hinge. Otherwise, it could happen that the wire slips out, if opening the window careless. That could eventually pulls the whole station off the table.
 
Perhaps a few tips for those, who want also to build up their antenna between the trees too.

The thin mason's lacing cord slipped significantly better over the branches, and then with the golf ball complains down, as it would have enabled the thicker cord. For fixing the antenna, the mason's lacing cord would have been sufficient, but there were no rolls of 100 m to buy. But it was more than the length of the available 50 meter rolls required (25 m upwards over the branche, 25 meters to the ground floor plus some reserve, since one can not stand directly under the tree). However, an interfering knot to join 2 25-m-strings I wanted to avoid, because the knot perhaps even dissolves.
Already in the summer I had experimented at home with 0.5 mm thick fishing line (monofil) to pull the thicker holding strings on the branches. This line is thin, available in lengths of 100 m and should actually good slip over the branches. The surface of the line is rough fairly quickly, especially when the bark of the branches is rough. Ater a few uses they no longer slide right over the branches.
How I do unfortunately had to find out, that the golf ball with a weight of 43 g was relatively light. As a result, the with it weighted line slipped sometimes only then after a short tug on the line through the branches. Next time I will therefore use a heavy duty, large nut, which should be even good to throw anyway.


However the antenna disassembly in the morning of the departure day, turned out to be much easier. I just had to loose the lines on the bottom of the trees and could then pull the bracing from the trees. The antenna was then rolled up neatly together bracing for the next use. Luckily I had at hand the snowshoes, because without them it would otherwise be difficult to come on the slope to the trees by the end of the holiday, because snow lying 75 cm high to the ground. Zum Glück hatte ich noch die Schneeschuhe parat, denn ohne sie wäre ich sonst nur schwer am Hang durch den am Ende des Urlaubs 75 cm hoch liegenden Schnee zu den Bäumen gekommen.
 
Radio station
 
After the construction of the antenna, the structure of the radio station followed. That went pretty quickly, since it was only necessary to interconnect transceiver, power supply and antenna. As transceiver I used again an Elecraft K1 for 40 m, 30 m, 20 m and 17 m with 5 W output power. As an external power supply a LiFePo4 battery served with a capacity of 4.5 Ah, which I recharged via an AC adapter during breaks in operation.
 
The match to the feed line took over the internal antenna tuner of the K1. And at this point, the construction stopped because I had not taken the right adapter (BNC-to-dual-post adapter). What should I do? The symmetrical ribbon cable could not be safely connected to the BNC connector on the transceiver. Luckily I had, for whatever reason, still took a short coaxial cable with BNC connectors on both sides. This was quickly divided in the middle and exposed shield and center conductor. Also the prepared 2 -wire line was slightly shortened and the 2 thereto attached banana plugs were cut off. What then emerged although did not look particularly stylish, but worked for the duration of my holiday without problems. I twisted the inner wire with one wire of the 2 -wire line and isolated the joint. Then, in the same way followed by the connection of the other wire to the shield.
 
Finish - plug in - does not work! What was going on again? The BNC plug got stuck and not wobbled on the jack. Even the twisted wires were fine. Since I discovered that I had indeed hit a little too much on the inner conductor and the dielectric, when stripping the inner conductor of the 5 cm long coaxial cable 5 cm. As a result, the already soldered inner conductor of the plug sticking out not far enough into the plug, so there was no contact with the socket. After pushing back the inner conductor everything worked as it should. The tuner was able to adjust the antenna on all 4 bands. The effect of the joint at the junction of 50 Ω (coaxial/transceiver) to 240 Ω (ribbon cable) the tuner resembled alike with.
 
Radio operation
 
RF propagation - screenshot by N0NBH The propagation conditions predicted on the radio operation was nothing good in view. For the start of the holiday www.hamqsl.com was preceded conditions both for the day and for the night on the lower bands poor (poor) and on the middle bands also not particularly better (fair). But notice! You should not deterred by such predictions to transmit via radio, because there are only (as the name suggests) predictions of the possible conditions. It does not represent measurements of the real conditions. In order to assess the propagation conditions, you should go to the bands, watch beacons and last but not least call CQ.
 
Regardless of the predictions I sat thus on some days in the morning to the station, at others days it was the late afternoon hours. The times were determined only by the other holiday activities. Radio operating like a well organized DXpedition I did not want to make. Even knowing at which times which band is theoretically usuable at all remained unconsidered. I've tried it always first on the highest available band (in this case 17 m) and then moved to a lower frequency or the next lower band, if nobody answered within 10 minutes on my CQ.
Although I called CQ as QRPer always near the QRP frequencies, but I did not hesitate to put the station on a clear frequency between powerful stations. Thus, it was inevitable that one or another station moved and get on my back because they simply did not hear me. However, then the number of QSOs rose on always. The CQ calls I sent at a rate of about 60 bpm (12 wpm) to facilitate slower QSO partners recording. Some of the faster radio operators sometimes cut back noticeably their speed after sending their callsign, others do not. I could absorb them anyway. Only I would not send as fast like this guys.
 
Reports at the DX Cluster After my return to Germany I saw after all, what could be found to HB0/DK3RED/P at the DX Cluster. Some messages I could assign a larger crowd at the frequency used by me. Other messages seemed again to have had no effect.
A pile-up as cause really rare stations do't occurred at any time. That was good, because I wanted to enjoy to transmit via radio and do not have to put up with troublemakers or self-appointed band-policeman. Only a few times I had to deflate some stations that, even though I was send the beginning of the recorded call sign or the entire recorded call sign and it was not her, again responded to call. Yes, also such stations get a QSO, but only after the end of the currently running QSOs.
 
SOTA program Inquiries as my activity counts for the SOTA program or if I have a corresponding reference, I had to deny. Especially when there is snow, those activities in the high mountains (the lowest, utilizable peak is 2000 m high) are only for experienced mountaineers and nothing for normal hikers like me. Maybe I'll climb on a future stay in Liechtenstein on one or the other evaluable for SOTA summit and take my radio station. But this time, the station remained in the mountain guest-house.
 
Statistics
 
In the end I was able to reach 359 QSOs in just over 30 hours in 11 days on the 4 available bands.

40 m: 37 QSOs (10 %)
30 m: 219 QSOs (61 %)
20 m: 85 QSOs (24 %)
17 m: 18 QSOs (5 %)


The QSO partner were in 36 DXCC Entities, in 7 CQ-zones and on 3 continents.

DXCC Entities: 9A, DL, EA, ES, EU, F, G, GM, GU, GW, HA, HB9, I, IS0, JA, LA, LY, LZ, OE, OH, OK, OM, ON, OZ, PA, RA2, RAas, RAeu, S5, SM, SP, UR, YL, YO, YU, Z3
CQ-zones: 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 25
Continents: AS, EU, NA


As expected, most stations had their position in Europe. But 4 DX-stations in the Asian part of Russia and a station in Japan reached me also. The shortest distance was 16 km, the longest 9783 km. The 30 m band was particularly useful because it was open to the times when I was sitting at the station. On the other hand, there may be no contests, which made a positive impact especially on the weekends.
 
If you would like to know if you already had a QSO with me, so please look in the logbook. I was able to update the logbook until after my return to Germany. Maybe that's the reason why some radio amateurs even called me several times per band and each time got her QSO. In a very "persistent" radio amateur I noticed that even without the supervision of a computer already in Liechtenstein, so I could call him at the third call with his name. He himself thought it was not from his fourth call - again on the same band.
 
Speaking of computers: The logbook I wrote in Liechtenstein was old-fashioned with paper and a pencil. This is very handy, although you will notice only very few double QSOs. For the first hand no separate power supply for the computer is required, for the second hand the paper logbook can not be disturbed by stray RF like the computer along with the required peripherals. You can write in this way also broken QSOs or heckles that can not be entered in the electronic logbook. Back at home I typed the logbook entries into the computer. If you do not have thousands QSOs, that's done fairly quickly.
 
QSL cards
 
QSL card HB0/DK3RED/P Shortly after my return already the first QSL cards arrived a direct way. A SWL card was among them. In the meantime (at 15 February 2015) were already almost all QSL cards send via bureau without waiting for incoming QSL cards. Only a few cards I have not been sent yet. These are the cards to the receiver, which I already know from unreturned QSL cards for other QSOs that they are not members of a club. Even QSO partners who had indicated on QRZ.com as QSL information "only eQSL", "only LOTW" or "only direct" were not considered yet. If this QSO partner want to have a QSL card, they must first send a paper QSL card to myself, because I am a notorious card collectors.
The QSL cards was printed in high quality at the QSL-Shop.
 
Thank-you
 
A big thank you I want to resend in this way to the operator of the mountain guest-house Sücka, the family Schädler. To be able to be active with a radio station is at the present time not everywhere like this.
 
I also want to thank all of you who were able to resume my weak signals and answered my CQ calls. It has given me again a lot of fun, especially since I've met again some already known hams from previous radio amateurs "on air". I hope to have helped one or the other to reach a new DXCC Entity, for another point on one or other award list, or at least a nice QSO.
 
Liechtenstein although is not listed in any "most-wanted" list, but the demand for this DXCC entity is relatively high. Since Liechtenstein has signed the CEPT agreement, all other necessary formalities with the license application is unnecessary. You must only get back on your feet and take your little radio station with you. Then you can reach a few hundred connections in a short time even on holiday style.

Imprint

Zwischen den Jahren in Liechtenstein

21. Dezember 2014 - 3. Januar 2015
 
Flagge von Liechtenstein Zugegebenermaßen mag ich den ganzen Rummel um Weihnachten nicht besonders. Und ein begeisterter Silvesterpartybesucher bin ich auch nicht. Daher "verzog" ich mich für die Feiertage am Jahresende und die Zeit zwischen den Jahren in eine Gegend, in der man sich auch mal allein und ungestört bewegen/aufhalten kann, ohne gleich allzu weit von der Zivilisation entfernt zu sein: in die Berge des Fürstentums Liechtenstein.
 
Lage von Liechtenstein Als Basislager und Standort für die Funkstation nutzte ich wieder das Berggasthaus Sücka. Es gehört zur Gemeinde Triesenberg und liegt auf 1402 m oberhalb des Ortsteils Steg in der Nähe des Wintersportorts Malbun. Die genaue Position (47°6′58,6″N, 9°33′54″O, Locator JN47SC) finden Sie unter anderem hier.
 
Wie man bequem in das Fürstentum Liechtenstein kommt und was sich alles im Winter dort auch fern der Funkstation erleben lässt, verriet ich ja schon in den Berichten über meine zweite und dritte Reise dorthin. Diesmal enthält der Bericht mehr über die Funkaktivität selbst.
Zum "Abschalten" und zur Erholung gehören für mich neben viel Ruhe und gutes Essen auch der Selbstbau und nicht zuletzt das Funken. Und Letzterem frönte ich diesmal wieder ausgiebig, obwohl das Wandern auch nicht zu kurz kam.
 
Auf- und Abbau der Antenne
 
Screenshot von findlotsize.com mit Antenne und Abspannung Zuerst ging es an den Aufbau der Antenne. Da ich die Umgebung des Gasthauses schon von den Vorjahren her kannte, beabsichtigte ich, diesmal eine größere Antenne aufzubauen. Vorher hatte ich zur Abspannung der Antenne immer Punkte relativ nah am Haus benutzt. Diesmal waren 2 große Bäume meine Ziele, die 100 m und 65 m entfernt stehen. Diese Entfernungen ermittelte ich schon im Vornherein auf www.findlotsize.com. Da die Entfernungen doch recht beträchtlich sind, hatte ich schon vorsorglich 2 100-m-Rollen mit 2 mm dicker, geflochtener Schnur (Polypropylen), 50 m Maurerschnur (1 mm dick) und einen Golfball mit Loch als Wurfgewicht dabei.
 
Nach ein paar Versuchen konnte ich die Maurerschnur mit dem daran befestigten Golfball durch die Spitze des Baums und über einen Ast schleudern, der etwa 25 m über dem Erdboden war. Anschließend verknotete ich die Maurerschnur mit der dickeren Schnur, zog den ersten Arm der vorbereiteten Drahtantenne daran etwas nach nach oben und löste die Maurerschnur wieder, als ich die dicke Schnur wie in den Händen hielt. Die restliche dicke Schnur wickelte ich zuerst provisorisch unten um den Baum. Am zweiten Baum wiederholte ich dieses Verfahren und zog abschließend beide Antennenarme straf nach oben. Der Aufbau dauerte eine reichliche Stunde, da ich mehrmals den recht steilen Hand (etwa 30°) zwischen den beiden Bäumen bewältigen musste. Zum Glück lag zu diesem Zeitpunkt erst relativ wenig Schnee, etwa 10 cm.
 
Am Ende befand sich die Antenne aus zweimal 20 m Draht und 8 m Zuleitung in etwa 10 bis 12 m Höhe schräg am Hang. Die Konstruktion würde ich als abgewinkelter Dipol oder als abgewinkelte Doublet bezeichnen. Die Speiseleitung zog ich waagerecht in Richtung Fenster und führte sie dort im Fensterrahmen eingeklemmt ins Zimmer. Die Station stand auf einem kleinen Tisch direkt am Fenster. Obwohl die Zweidrahtleitung gut im Fensterrahmen klemmte, verband ich sie mit einer kurzen Schnur am Fensterscharnier. Ansonsten hätte es passieren können, dass die Leitung beim unvorsichtigen Öffnen des Fensters herausrutscht und eventuell die ganze Station vom Tisch zieht.
 
Vielleicht noch ein paar Tipps für all jene, die ihre Antenne auch so zwischen den Bäumen aufbauen wollen.

Die dünne Maurerschnur rutschte wesentlich besser über die Äste und anschließend mit dem Golfball beschwert nach unten, als es die dickere Schnur ermöglicht hätte. Zum Abspannen der Antenne wäre auch die Maurerschnur ausreichend gewesen, doch davon gab es keine Rollen mit 100 m zu kaufen. Doch es waren mehr als die auf 50-m-Rollen zur Verfügung stehenden Länge erforderlich (25 m nach oben über den Ast, 25 m bis zum Erdboden plus etwas Reserve, da man ja nicht direkt unter dem Baum stehen kann). Einen störenden Knoten beim Verbinden von 2 25-m-Schnüren, der sich vielleicht auch noch löst, wollte ich jedoch vermeiden.
Schon im Sommer hatte ich zu Hause auch mit 0,5 mm dicker Angelsehne experimentiert, um mit ihr die dickeren Halteschnüre über die Äste zu ziehen. Sie ist dünn, auch in Längen von 100 m erhältlich und sollte eigentlich gut über die Äste rutschen. Ihre Oberfläche wird jedoch relativ schnell rau, besonders wenn die Rinde der Äste rau ist. Dann rutscht sie nach ein paar Einsätzen nicht mehr richtig über die Äste.
Wie ich leider feststellen musste, war auch der Golfball mit seinen 43 g relativ leicht. Dadurch rutschte die mit ihm beschwerte Schnur manchmal erst nach kurzem Zupfen an der Schnur über und durch die Äste. Beim nächsten Mal werde ich daher eine schwere, große Mutter verwenden. Die sollte sich trotzdem noch gut werfen lassen.


Der Antennenabbau am Morgen des Abreisetags gestaltete sich hingegen wesentlich einfacher. Ich musste nur die Befestigungen an den Bäumen lösen und konnte dann die Abspannungen aus den Bäumen ziehen. Die Antenne wurden anschließend samt Abspannungen für den nächsten Einsatz ordentlich eingerollt. Zum Glück hatte ich noch die Schneeschuhe parat, denn ohne sie wäre ich sonst nur schwer am Hang durch den am Ende des Urlaubs 75 cm hoch liegenden Schnee zu den Bäumen gekommen.
 
Funkstation
 
Nach dem Aufbau der Antenne folgte der Aufbau der Funkstation. Das ging recht schnell, da lediglich Transceiver, Stromversorgung und Antenne zusammenzuschalten waren. Als Transceiver kam wieder ein Elecraft K1 für 40 m, 30 m, 20 m und 17 m mit 5 W Ausgangsleistung zum Einsatz. Als Stromversorgung diente ein externer LiFePo4-Akkumulator mit einer Kapazität von 4,5 Ah, der sich in den Betriebspausen über ein Steckernetzteil aufladen ließ.
 
Die Anpassung an die Speiseleitung übernahm der interne Antennentuner des K1. Und an diesem Punkt stockte der Aufbau, denn ich hatte den passenden Adapter (BNC-auf-Zweifach-Bananenbuche) nicht mitgenommen. Was nun? Das symmetrische Flachbandkabel ließ sich nicht sicher mit der BNC-Buchse des Transceivers verbinden. Zum Glück hatte ich, aus welchem Grund auch immer, noch ein kurzes Koaxialkabel mit beidseitigen BNC-Steckern mitgenommen. Das wurde kurzerhand in der Mitte geteilt sowie Abschirmung und Innenleiter freigelegt. Auch die vorbereitete Zweidrahtleitung wurde etwas gekürzt und die beiden daran befestigten Bananenstecker abgeschnitten. Was dann entstand, sah zwar nicht besonders edel aus, funktionierte aber für die Urlaubsdauer ohne Probleme. Ich verdrillte den Innenleiter mit der einen Ader der Zweidrahtleitung und isolierte die Verbindungsstelle. Dann folgte in gleicher Weise die Verbindung der anderen Ader mit der Abschirmung.
 
Fertig - anstecken - geht nicht! Was war nun wieder los? Der BNC-Stecker saß fest und wackelte nicht auf der Buchse. Auch die verdrillten Drähte waren in Ordnung. Da entdeckte ich, dass ich beim Abisolieren des Innenleiters an dem nur 5 cm langen Koaxialkabel wohl etwas zu stark am Innenleiter und dem Dielektrikum gezogen hatte. Dadurch ragte der bereits angelötete Innenleiter des Steckers nicht mehr weit genug in den Stecker, wodurch es keinen Kontakt zur Buchse gab. Nach dem Zurückschieben des Innenleiter funktionierte alles wie vorgesehen. Der Tuner konnte die Antenne auf allen 4 Bändern anpassen. Die Auswirkung der Stoßstelle am Übergang von 50 Ω (Koaxialkabel/Transceiver) auf 240 Ω (Flachbandleitung) glich er gleich mit aus.
 
Funkbetrieb
 
HF-Bedingungen - Screenshot von N0NBH Die Ausbreitungsbedingungen sagten im Hinblick auf den Funkbetrieb nichts gutes voraus. Für den Beginn des Urlaubs gab www.hamqsl.com sowohl für den Tag als auch für die Nacht auf den unteren Bändern schlechte (poor) und auf den mittleren Bändern auch nicht besonders bessere (fair) Bedingungen voraus. Doch beachten Sie! Man sollte sich durch solche Vorhersagen nicht vom Funken abhalten lassen, denn es sind nur (wie der Name schon sagt) Vorhersagen der möglichen Ausbreitungsbedingen. Sie stellen keine Messungen der realen Bedingungen dar. Um die Ausbreitungsbedingungen beurteilen zu können, sollte man sich auf die Bänder begeben, Baken beobachten und nicht zuletzt CQ rufen.
 
Ungeachtet der Vorhersagen setzte ich mich daher an einigen Tagen morgens an die Station, an anderen waren es die späten Nachmittagsstunden. Die Zeiten waren dabei nur von den anderen Urlaubsaktivitäten bestimmt. Funkbetrieb wie bei einer durchorganisierte DXpedition wollte ich nicht machen. Auch das Wissen, zu welchen Zeiten welches Band theoretisch überhaupt nutzbar ist, blieb unberücksichtigt. Ich probierte es stets zuerst auf dem höchsten zur Verfügung stehenden Band (in diesem Fall 17 m) und wechselte dann zu einer tieferen Frequenz oder auf das nächst tiefere Band, wenn innerhalb von 10 Minuten niemand auf meinen CQ-Ruf antwortete.
Zwar rief ich als QRPer stets immer erst in der Nähe der QRP-Frequenzen CQ, doch ich scheute mich nicht, mich auch auf eine freie Frequenz zwischen leistungsstärkere Stationen zu setzen. Dadurch blieb es nicht aus, dass mir die eine oder andere Station etwas "auf den Pelz" rückte, weil sie mich schlichtweg nicht hörte. Jedoch stieg die Anzahl der QSOs dann immer an. Die CQ-Rufe sendete ich mit einer Geschwindigkeit von etwa 60 BpM (12 WpM) aus, um auch langsameren QSO-Partnern die Aufnahme zu erleichtern. Einige der schnellere Funker drosselten manchmal nach ihrem Rufzeichen merklich die Geschwindigkeit, andere nicht. Aufnehmen konnte ich sie trotzdem. Nur geben wollte ich nicht so schnell.
 
Meldungen im DX-Cluster Nach meiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland sah ich auch einmal nach, was zu HB0/DK3RED/P im DX-Cluster zu finden war. Einige Meldungen konnte ich einem größeren Andrang auf der von mir genutzten Frequenz zuordnen. Andere Meldungen schienen wiederum keine Auswirkungen gehabt zu haben.
Ein Pile-up, wie es wirklich rare Stationen hervorrufen, trat zu keinem Zeitpunkt auf. Das war auch gut so, denn ich wollte ja das Funken genießen und mich nicht mit Störern oder selbsternannten Bandpolizisten herumschlagen müssen. Nur wenige Male musste ich einige Stationen "bremsen", die, obwohl ich den Anfang des aufgenommenen Rufzeichens oder das ganze aufgenommene Rufzeichen gab und es nicht ihres war, wieder mit einem Anruf reagierten. Klar bekommen auch solche Stationen ihr QSO, doch erst nach Beendigung des gerade laufenden QSOs.
 
SOTA-Programm Anfragen, ob meine Aktivität für das SOTA-Programm zählt oder ob ich eine entsprechende Referenznummer habe, musste ich verneinen. Gerade wenn Schnee liegt, sind solche Aktivitäten im Hochgebirge (der niedrigste, wertbare Gipfel ist 2000 m hoch) nur etwas für geübte Alpinisten und nichts für normale Wanderer wie mich. Eventuell werde ich bei einem zukünftigen Aufenthalt in Liechtenstein mal auf den einen oder anderen für SOTA wertbaren Gipfel klettern und meine Funkstation mitnehmen. Doch diesmal blieb die Station im Berggasthaus.
 
Statistik
 
Am Ende konnte ich auf den 4 zur Verfügung stehenden Bändern an 11 Tagen in etwas mehr als 30 Stunden 359 QSOs erreichen.

40 m: 37 QSOs (10 %)
30 m: 219 QSOs (61 %)
20 m: 85 QSOs (24 %)
17 m: 18 QSOs (5 %)


Die QSO-Partner befanden sich in 36 DXCC-Gebieten, in 7 CQ-Zonen und auf 3 Kontinenten.

DXCC-Gebiete: 9A, DL, EA, ES, EU, F, G, GM, GU, GW, HA, HB9, I, IS0, JA, LA, LY, LZ, OE, OH, OK, OM, ON, OZ, PA, RA2, RAas, RAeu, S5, SM, SP, UR, YL, YO, YU, Z3
CQ-Zonen: 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 25
Kontinente: AS, EU, NA


Erwartungsgemäß hatten die meisten Stationen ihren Standpunkt in Europa. Doch 4 DX-Stationen im asiatischen Teil Russlands und eine Station in Japan erreichten mich ebenfalls. Die kürzeste Entfernung betrug 16 km, die längste 9783 km. Das 30-m-Band war besonders geeignet, da es einerseits zu den Zeiten, zu denen ich an der Station saß, offen war. Andererseits dürfen dort keine Conteste stattfinden, was sich besonders an den Wochenenden positiv bemerkbar machte.
 
Wenn Sie wissen möchten, ob Sie schon ein QSO mit mir hatten, so sehen Sie bitte im Logbuch nach. Das Logbuch konnte ich erst nach meiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland aktualisieren. Vielleicht deshalb kam es vor, dass mich einige Funkamateur sogar mehrfach pro Band anriefen und jedesmal ihr QSO bekam. Bei einem ganz "hartnäckigen" Funkamateur bemerkte ich das selbst ohne Kontrolle durch einen Rechner schon in Liechtenstein, sodass ich ihn beim dritten Anruf gleich mit seinem Namen begrüßen konnte. Ihn selbst hielt das nicht von seinem vierten Anruf ab - wieder auf demselben Band.
 
Apropos Rechner: Das Logbuch führte ich in Liechtenstein ganz altmodisch auf Papier und mit einem Bleistift. Das ist sehr praktisch, obwohl man so nur die wenigsten Doppel-QSOs mitbekommt. Zum einen ist so keine separate Stromversorgung für den Rechner erforderlich, zum anderen kann der Rechner samt erforderlicher Peripherie nicht durch vagabundierende HF gestört werden. Außerdem lassen sich auf diese Weise auch abgebrochene QSOs oder Zwischenrufe festhalten, die im elektronischen Logbuch nicht eingetragen werden können. Wieder zu Hause angekommen, tippte ich die Logbucheinträge in den Rechner. Wenn man nicht Tausende QSOs hat, ist das recht schnell erledigt.
 
QSL-Karten
 
QSL-Karte HB0/DK3RED/P Kurz nach meiner Rückkehr trafen schon die ersten QSL-Karten auf direktem Weg ein. Auch eine SWL-Karte war darunter. Mittlerweile (Stand: 15. Februar 2015) wurden schon nahezu alle QSL-Karten über das Büro versandt, ohne auf eingehende QSL-Karten zu warten. Nur ein paar Karten habe ich bisher nicht verschickt. Das sind die Karten an die Empfänger, von denen ich aus zurückgekommenen QSL-Karten für anderen QSOs schon weiß, dass sie keine Mitglieder eines Clubs sind. Auch QSO-Partner, die auf QRZ.com als QSL-Information "only eQSL", "only LOTW" oder "only direct" angegeben hatten, wurden noch nicht berücksichtigt. Wenn diese QSO-Partner eine QSL-Karte haben möchten, müssen sie mir erst selbst eine Papier-QSL-Karte schicken, denn ich bin ein notorischer Kartensammler.
Die QSL-Karten habe ich wiederum in hochwertiger Qualität beim QSL-Shop drucken lassen.
 
Dankeschön
 
Ein großes Dankeschön möchte ich auf diesem Wege nochmals an die Betreiber des Berggasthauses Sücka, die Familie Schädler, senden. Es ist heute leider nicht mehr überall üblich, so einfach mit einer Funkstation aktiv werden zu können.
 
Bedanken möchte ich mich ebenfalls bei allen, die meine leisen Signale aufnehmen konnten und meine CQ-Rufe beantwortet haben. Es hat mir wieder sehr viel Spaß gemacht, zumal ich einige schon aus den Vorjahren bekannte Funkamateure "on air" wiedergetroffen habe. Ich hoffe, dem einen oder anderen zu einem neuen DXCC-Gebiet, zu einem weiteren Pünktchen auf der einen oder anderen Diplom-Liste oder wenigstens zu einem netten QSO verholfen zu haben.
 
Liechtenstein ist zwar in keiner "Most-wanted"-Liste aufgeführt, doch die Nachfrage nach diesem DXCC-Gebiet ist relativ hoch. Da Liechtenstein das CEPT-Abkommen unterzeichnet hat, erübrigen sich alle sonst erforderlichen Formalitäten bei der Lizenzbeantragung. Sie müssen sich nur noch aufrappeln und Ihre kleine Funkstation mitnehmen. Selbst im Urlaubsstil lassen dann so einige Hundert Verbindungen in kurzer Zeit erreichen.

Impressum